The purpose of the research at the Department of Health Technology is to improve the health of human beings through the creation of new technology and solutions.

Our cross-disciplinary proifile that combines areas within mathematics, computer science, physics, chemistry and biology is an important strength for the department.

The research is divided in three scientific Divisions: Biopharma, Imaging and Sensors and Digital Health and Biological Modelling


Research areas 


The three Divisions includes the department's 10 Sections, and within these each of the Research Groups can be found.

Overview of the sections below


Head of Section: Jonas R. Henriksen

Head of Section: Sine Reker Hadrup

Head of Section: Niels B. Larsen


Imaging and Sensors

Biomedical Engineering Section
Head of Section: Thomas Sams
Head of Section: Anja Boisen
Head of Section: Jan Henrik Ardenkjær-Larsen
Head of Section: Anders Kristensen


Digital Health and Biological Modelling

Head of Section: Anders Gorm Pedersen
Digital Health
Head of Section: Jakob Eyvind Bardram
Head of Section: Torsten Dau




Copenhagen Center for Health Technology.
Director: Jakob Bardram
Centre for Applied Hearing Research
Center Leader: Torsten Dau



Center for Fast Ultrasound Imaging.

Center Leader: Jørgen Arendt Jensen

Oticon Centre of Excellence for Hearing and Speech Sciences
Center Leader: Torsten Dau

Center for Intestinal Absorption and Transport of Biopharmaceuticals.
Center Leader: Thomas L. Andresen

Center for Hyperpolarization in Magnetic Resonance.
Center Leader: Jan Henrik Ardenkjær-Larsen

IDUN Center.
Center Leader: Anja Boisen